WCBS 880, WNBC Grab Three Murrow Awards

WCBS-880-logo smallBy JERRY BARMASH

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards for more than 40 years. This year WCBS 880 takes three trophies back to Hudson Street.

WCBS, in the large market category, is part of the region that also includes New Jersey and Pennsylvania.

WCBS won the two big awards–Overall Excellence and Best Newscast. That honor was bestowed upon the station for its coverage the morning after Superstorm Sandy. The WCBS news team also earned the prestigious prize for The Fury of Sandy.

“We know how much sacrifice and commitment it took to carry our coverage through the storm and its aftermath,” WCBS 880 news director Tim Scheld said in a memo to staffers.  “We didn’t do it for the awards, we did it because that’s what we do.”

WNYC-FM won the Best News Documentary category, while Bloomberg Radio/WBBR was victorious in the Best News Series.

WINS’ John Montone was named winner in the Best Use of Sound/Video category for his Mouth Off To Montone segment.

On television, WNBC/Channel 4 was the winner of Breaking News for Hurricane Sandy coverage. The station’s Chris Glorioso won for Best Investigative Reporting of the exhaustive Prescription for Addiction piece.

Veteran videographer Michael DelGuidice rounds out WNBC’s plate with a trophy for Best Use of Sound/Video.

“I’m incredibly proud of the extraordinarily dedicated News 4 team who fulfilled our mission of getting critical local news and information out to our community during Hurricane Sandy,” Susan Sullivan, WNBC Vice President of News,  said in a statement. “In all, we delivered 142 consecutive on air hours of Hurricane Sandy coverage.”

Other winners include FiOS1 for Best Website, while News 12 Long Island won for Best News Series and News 12 The Bronx was selected for Best Sports Reporting.

The 2013 Murrows will be handed out Columbus Day in New York.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *